## Single Electron Capture in Doubly-Excited Triply-Open-Shell Dynamical Atomic Systems

## Content

The problem of how multi-unpaired electron ion cores behave while undergoing single electron capture (SEC) during fast ion-atom collisions is inherently complex to understand and model. Fundamental aspects such as, the preservation or change of the initial electronic configuration of the projectile ion during the collision or the spin statistical populations of similarly configured final states corresponding to different spins, are at the heart of the correct description of the SEC process, recently reported by us [1]. We considered the 2p SEC channel in collisions of 2-18 MeV  $C^{4+}(1s2s^3S)$  with He and H<sub>2</sub> targets in which the 1s2s2p  ${}^{4}P$ ,  ${}^{2}P_{\pm}$  levels are populated, and obtained their cross sections ratio  $R = [{}^{4}P]/([{}^{2}P_{+}] + [{}^{2}P_{-}])$ , which bears the corresponding population spin statistics signature. Using zero-degree Auger projectile spectroscopy and ab initio dynamical calculations involving three active electrons within a full configuration interaction approach [2], we resolved a long-standing puzzle and controversy on the value of R and the effect of cascades. Our results invalidate the frozen core approximation generally used in the past when considering electron capture in multi-electron multi-open shell quantum systems [3-5]. In addition, we proposed an elegant Pauli shielding mechanism related to strong exchange effects, which selectively obstructs specific reaction channels. Here, we present details of this work focusing on the Pauli shielding mechanism and the cascade effects [6], and also report new results on the ratio R from collisions with heavier gas targets.

We acknowledge support by the project "Cluster of Accelerator Laboratories for Ion-Beam Research and Applications— CALIBRA" (MIS 5002799) which is implemented under the Action "Reinforcement of the Research and Innovation Infrastructure," funded by the Operational Programme "Competitiveness, Entrepreneurship and Innovation" (NSRF 2014-2020) and co-financed by Greece and the European Union (European Regional Development Fund). T. J.M. Z. and A. D. also acknowledge support from the LABEX PLAS@PAR under Grant No. ANR-11-IDEX-0004-02.

## References

1. I. Madesis, A. Laoutaris, T. J. M. Zouros, E. P. Benis, J. W. Gao and A. Dubois, Phys. Rev. Lett. 124 (2020) 113401.

2. J. W. Gao, Y. Wu, N. Sisourat, J.G. Wang and A. Dubois, Phys. Rev. A 96 (2017) 052703.

3. D. Strohschein, D. Röhrbein, T. Kirchner, S. Fritzsche, J. Baran, and J. A. Tanis, Phys. Rev. A 77 (2008) 022706.

4. T. J. M. Zouros, B. Sulik, L. Gulyas and K. Tökési, Phys. Rev. A 77 (2008) 050701R.

5. D. Röhrbein, T. Kirchner and S. Fritzsche, Phys. Rev. A 81 (2010) 042701.

6. T. J. M. Zouros, S. Nikolaou, I. Madesis, A. Laoutaris, S. Nanos, A. Dubois and E. P. Benis, Atoms (submitted).

**Primary authors:** Prof. BENIS, E. P. (Department of Physics, University of Ioannina, GR-45110 Ioannina, Greece ); Mr MADESIS, I. (Department of Physics, University of Crete, Voutes Campus, GR-70013 Heraklion, Greece & Tandem Accelerator Laboratory, INPP, NCSR Demokritos, GR-15310 Ag. Paraskevi, Greece); Mr LAOUTARIS, A. (Department of Physics, University of Crete, Voutes Campus, GR-70013 Heraklion, Greece & Tandem Accelerator Laboratory, INPP, NCSR Demokritos, GR-15310 Ag. Paraskevi, Greece); Mr NANOS, S. (Department of Physics, University of Ioannina, GR-45110 Ioannina, Greece & Tandem Accelerator Laboratory, INPP, NCSR Demokritos, GR-15310 Ag. Paraskevi, Greece); Mr NANOS, S. (Department of Physics, University of Ioannina, GR-45110 Ioannina, Greece & Tandem Accelerator Laboratory, INPP, NCSR Demokritos, GR-15310 Ag. Paraskevi, Greece); Dr GAO, J. W. (Institute of Applied Physics and Computational Mathematics, 100088 Beijing, China & Laser Fusion Research Center, China Academy of Engineering Physics, 621900 Mianyang, China); Prof. DUBOIS, A. (Sorbonne Université, CNRS, Laboratoire de Chimie Physique–Matière et Rayonnement, F-75005 Paris, France); Prof. ZOUROS, T. J. M. (Department of Physics, University of Crete, Voutes Campus, GR-70013 Heraklion, Greece & Tandem Accelerator Laboratory, INPP, NCSR Demokritos, GR-70013 Heraklion, Greece & Tandem Accelerator Laboratory, INPP, NCSR Demokritos, GR-70013 Heraklion, Greece & Tandem Accelerator Laboratory, INPP, NCSR Demokritos, GR-15310 Ag. Paraskevi, Greece)

**Presenter:** Prof. BENIS, E. P. (Department of Physics, University of Ioannina, GR-45110 Ioannina, Greece )

Contribution Type: Talk

Submitted by BENIS, Emmanouil on Monday 10 August 2020